4 Daughters Irish Pub
Click here for the Bar menu
4 Daughters Irish Pub is a local family owned and operated restaurant bringing an authentic Irish experience on a grand scale to Southern Oregon, in both decor and fare.Come enjoy a taste of Ireland!
The History of our Building
126 West Main Street was originally built in 1907, and soon became the home of the Bates Brothers Barbershop. The upper floor ovf the building initially served as a hotel and boarding house with 12 small apartments that many railroad workers would call “home”. The Bates Brothers operated their barbershop for over 50 years in the westHistoric Building Photo in Medford Oregon portion of the building until the early 1960’s. However, the eastern portion of the building initially housed the UGO Theater, later renamed the Bijou Theater, Medford’s first motion picture house.
Howard S. Boise and Peter Carter closed the theater portion of the building and created The Club, a cards and billiards parlor. During World War II it evolved into The Club Cigar Store. It was just after the war, in 1946, that the eastern half of the building was then known as Christian Schempp’s Beer Parlor.
In 1952 it was renamed The Union Club. In 1988, still operating as the Union Club, the building underwent extensive renovations for the next few years. In 1998, the building again was renovated to become Memories Antiques. And finally in 2007, the building was transformed, retaining its historical significance to become 4 Daughters Irish Pub.